ABC and Poon hill trek day 4

Day 4

Good morning you all, journey to our first final destination ABC (Annapurna Base Camp) arrives here. Last night was really cold 😦 the blankets were not enough even when we were bundled up in two of it. After midnight I felt this urge, if someone could really come cuddle me or throw me in fire 🙂 either sounded good to me 🙂
I wondered how cold it was up there in MBC & ABC.

After breakfast we started our trek towards ABC, finally we were not alone we saw few people coming behind us and a lot of people returning from ABC. It was snow and icy everywhere and nothing much to see on our way. Rock hill full of snow, snow falling waterfall, icy route and what else snow just everywhere. I was really having bad times walking on snow. And I was just sliding down the ice all the time, i thought this was the worst part of the trek. I couldn’t wait enough to reach to our destination.

On our way I found this white dog, he was coming down from ABC with some tourist. He was bit sick and vomiting often, it was sad to se him this way. May be he was having the altitude sickness 😦 but later he followed us back to ABC. He was white in color and his eyes were red like red red 🙂 it seemed like devil’s cute version in form of dog 🙂

As we reached MBC we stopped there for our lunch, this place where we stopped was not that friendly and bit strange. Well it was quite amazing they had wifi service up here but it was quite expensive too like NRS.300 per hour. Well its a lot but i guess that was fair enough too.

After taking few snaps we begin to walk towards the ABC. One of the guide whom we bumped into told us that ABC would look nearer but its really far from here, when you spot the hotels they seem to be near but the walking trail never seems to end. Well he was true it seemed to me like far far away kingdom to reach. Well after a walk of nearly 2 hours we finally made it to ABC. We were so happy, we definitely looked like a little penguin conquering their trail and reaching on top. By now we were in a snow kingdom. Happy and smiley 🙂

We made it to 4130mt and we were really enjoying. Everything here was cold, bathroom was all icy you would slip away if your step wasn’t safe. And the water was iced too, you would have to break it on your own. And the interesting thing if you would like to shower they would provide you hot shower and charge you 400 rupees. But the water they provide you would be a snow itself and they heat it. They were recycling it, i guess no one would have shower up there in such a cold weather though. Well not me off course.

After having little chit chat with the hotel staffs and other tourist that we met up here we gathered around a dinning table and sat for a hot water,tea,coffee,soup and etc. My friend then begin to have a altitude sickness, she vomited and then she skipped her dinner too. I was really worried i asked if we could go down n stay at MBC but she didn’t wanted to walk all the way down again. May be that was because of sickness, everyone in the room were asking her not fall asleep coz that would be dangerous as they mentioned. When they have altitude sickness and when they fall asleep they have seen people never waking up. So well that sounded quite disturbing and unreal but we had to believe them somehow i guess. 😦 so everyone in room were telling out jokes and laughing loud and well creating noises so my fren wouldn’t sleep. It was fun!!

Later the owner of hotel generated the heater and everyone of us were sitting around heater like the group of penguins sitting around fire and heating their body. Our room was icy cold like really icy ice and I thought the window was open or something so I checked but it was not that. I saw the snow was piling up till the window level which would be like taller then me. I ran out to see and was slided down and nearly broke my ankle. But still i wanted to check so I tried with my leg slowly and it was till my knee and still going under. Oh my god!!! It was getting scarier to me and I missed home so much.

We decided to sleep in dining hall coz that was much warmer than our room. Well i had my dinner and I shared it with the dog as I mentioned before. And yes there was another healthy looking friendly dog too. I will post the picture of both of them so you will get chance to see them. And saying goodnights to everyone we went to our sleep land 🙂
Goodnight ABC
XOXO
Malika

20140212-072931.jpg

20140212-072938.jpg

20140212-073240.jpg

20140212-073400.jpg

20140212-073428.jpg

20140212-073449.jpg

20140212-073525.jpg

20140212-073536.jpg

20140212-073700.jpg

20140212-073653.jpg

20140212-073716.jpg

20140212-073810.jpg

20140212-073758.jpg

20140212-101200.jpg

20140212-101253.jpg

20140212-101300.jpg

20140212-101308.jpg

20140212-101339.jpg

20140212-101330.jpg

20140212-101319.jpg

20140212-101624.jpg

20140212-101632.jpg

3 thoughts on “ABC and Poon hill trek day 4

  1. loved the way you expressed your Trek, but the white balloon floating on top of your beautifully written words, makes it a little tricky to read out all of the text!!!

Leave a Reply

